The president of the commission is named by the European council which represents the 28 countries of the EU. The appointment must be approved by the European parliament which also approves of the 26 other commissioners. The president is elected for 5 years, which are renewable.
Since the creation of the treaty of Lisbon, the European council has had to propose to the parliament a president taking into account the election in the European parliament.
For the European election of 2014, the parliament decided that each political group could present an only candidate.
Currently and since 2004, José Manuel Barroso has been the president of the commission.
So, there are representatives of each party to the election:
José Bové :

Has been chosen to represent the « greens » in this election for the president of the commission. He is currently the vice-president of the agriculture commission and of sustainable development in the parliament.
Jean-Claude Juncker :

He is applying for the presidency and he represents the PPE, a right wing party. He was the first president of the euro-group during 8 years and he was the first minister of the Luxembourg for more than 20 years.
Franziska Zeller:

Born on November 22nd, 1981 in Wilhelm Pieck-Stadt-Guben (Brandenburg), in the former East Germany, Franziska Keller is a MEP of the Green Party (Die Grünen). After the primary organized by his party, Keller is selected (and her partner José Bové) as a candidate of the party for the presidency of the European Commission.
Franziska Keller was elected to Parliament in 2009 on the list of the German Greens (Die Grünen). At the age of 28, “Ska Keller” entered the Strasbourg assembly room where she became a member of the Committee on International Trade and the Delegation to the Parliamentary Committee EU-Turkey.

Martin Schulz:

Martin Schulz is the President of the European Parliament and the European Socialist Party candidate in 2014 as President of the European Commission.
He was born on December 20th, 1955. From the age of 19 he joined the German Social Democratic Party (SPD). Ten years later in 1984, he was elected to City Council Würselen, then mayor of the city at the age of 31, a position he held until 1998.
His European career began in 1994 when he was elected as an MEP (Member of the European Parliament). Since then, he has constantly been re-elected, and is gaining importance within the institution. He continues his career following the same idea :” Parliament should be the same level as the Commission and the European Council debating and controlling their proposals”
Martin Schulz wants to politicize the choice of the President of the Commission, and allow citizens to choose “between a European center-right and center-left Europe, a liberal and a socialist Europe, to help its democratization.”

Alexis Tsipras
Alexis Tspiras

He was born in Athens in 1974. He began his political career as an Activist of the Communist Youth during the years of college and high school. Two years later, in 2006, he was a candidate in the municipal election in Athens. He came in third with a score of 10.5%.
Finally he became president of SYNASPISMOS between 2008 and for the first time he entered the national parliament the following year. In 2009, at the age of 35, he became head of the left coalition SYRIZA.
It was during the general elections in May 2012 that the name Alexis Tsipras became familiar to the ears of Europeans. With 16.78% of the votes (and 52 Members of the Greek Parliament), SYRIZA became the first left force. The Greek president asked him to make a coalition government but nor New Democracy or SYRIZA or the other succeed. In June 2012, new election, 26.89% of the vote, for a total of 71 representatives in parliament in Athens.
On December 15th, 2013 Alexis Tsipras was named candidate of the European Left to the Presidency of the European Commission. His most important priorities are to save Greece from the economic crisis and a moratorium concerning debt service.

Guy Verhofstadt – Belgian


Guy Verhofstadt has been a MEP since 2009. Jurist by training, he was nicknamed “Baby Thatcher” because of his age and his radical positions. He is the former Belgian Prime Minister candidate in 2014 for the post of President of the European Commission.
He was the favourite to succeed Romano Prodi in 2004 and was competing in front of José Manuel Barroso in 2010 He was supported by the French President Jacques Chirac and German Chancellor Gerhard Schröder But he was faced with a british refusal because of his opposition concerning the war in Iraq. European Personality leading, he campaigned for a federal Europe.
His commitment to Europe was noticed when he launched in 2001 in Laeken, under the Belgian Presidency of the EU, the process leading to the Constitutional Treaty.

For the first time in the history of the EU, it is the voters who will nominate, through the elected parliamentarians, the future President of the Commission, who will come from the European party winning won the election … The heads of State and Government will take into account the proposals of parliament but it will always be the ones who appoint, after lengthy negotiations, the successor to the Portuguese conservative Jose Manuel Barroso.
Currently, Jean-Claude Juncker seems to be the favourite .